d*land

Or wear a dress so I can get it off real easy.

Is everybody happy now
Is everybody clear

That was exhausting.

I think the important lesson to take away from all of this, if I may risk sounding like an after school special, is that women... Yes. All of us, usually ... are way too hung up on physical appearance. We use it to devalue each other, and you know you're talking shit about the homely girl in line in front of you at the grocery store. The one with the boyfriend. You know we use it to put some kind of price tag on ourselves, and it's a fucking beauty pagent just to go to buy a pack of smokes from 7-11. It's cut throat competition. For what? For what you have? For what you've already used? Why?

We could drive out to the dunes tonight
Because summer's almost here

Believe it or not, the torrent of insults did not touch me. My self esteem is already shot through with holes, and someone who has never met me isn't going to make it crumble.

I understand that everyone goes disappearing
Into the greater grey that covers over every day
And hovers in the distance...

Someone called me smart today. And I said thank you, instead of trying to play it off. I can take a compliment on my brain, but not on my appearance. I know it's because I'm always going to have that, no matter what happens to my body. Regardless of good hair day or bad hair day, and how fucking big my ass gets, I'm still going to be able to think. I'm still going to be able to prove myself, even in this piece of shit void we call the internet.

It's too late to get high now

Get your own fucking voice.

And when the roads are clear
You head on out of here

Guess what?

No... Guess!

I'm still happy.

Good Night.

01.14.03 || 6:57 pm

before || next

archive