d*land

I don't think you know who you're dealing with.

Regularly scheduled programming will not be seen at this time. Instead, you're watching my entry on Michael Jackson.

Alright.

Earlier I admitted to being really excited to watch the Michael Jackson special on 20/20. I make no secret about the fact that I'm probably the only person in the US that purchased Invincible of their own free will.

In a bit of history, I'm 26. That means Michael Jackson was a part of my childhood. When Thriller was released, my parents went to Tower that day and purchsed it, and they did that for each of his albums until I was about 16. When the video for Thriller premiered on TV, we were all there. When Michael Jackson appeared on any awards ceremony, my dad woke us up to watch. I had posters, and buttons, and T-shirts, and records.

I love that man. I do. I'm throwing myself out there and saying it, because he's Magic. You cannot watch someone let art move them and not love them. I can't.

What I think is being missed here is that he's The King of Pop. The man is huge, and has been since a very young age. You can't deny that that messes you up, mentally.

However. HOWEVER. Why must we assume the worst? Why must we assume he has a thing for little boys? Why? Why can't we just accept that maybe he likes helping children? Because of ONE TIME? One time some child comes forward. One. Time. Did it occur to anyone that maybe, just maybe, the fault was laid on the wrong person?

I don't believe it. I will not believe it.

Here's the thing: when you have a guest, and the guest requests something, don't you do your best to give them what they've asked for?

Here's the other thing: he slept on the floor.

Here's one more thing: he's right. There's nothing you can do that is more kind than letting someone sleep in your bed.

Last night I lost all respect for Barbara Walters. And I had nothing but empathy for him. He's a fucking genius, and there's just no way you can deny that.

. . .

You love music. It moves you, it pushes you, it brings up emotions at the slightest hint of your favorite song's baseline.

I know nearly every fucking person passing judgment on that man loved at least one song off of Thriller. I know that. And, I don't understand how people can see only bad things in a person that has given the world only good.

. . .

And that's it. I watched all 2 hours, and I do think he's probably lying about his face, but jesus. It's Michael fucking Jackson, people! I believe I'm way too emotionally attached to him, and I cannot provide any objective view point.

I just wanted to be one of the people who was actually honest, and not so embarrased I couldn't say the truth.

02.07.03 || 8:30 something am

before || next

archive